New Mormon Missions

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced the creation of three new missions on January 7, bringing the total number of missions up to 409. Two of the missions will be in Africa and the third in Southeast Asia. The new missions will start blazing their path on July 1, which is the traditional turnover day for new mission presidents.

The Nigeria Owerri Mission will be created from a division of the existing Nigeria Port Harcourt Mission. The Owerri Mission will take up the northeastern third of the Port Harcourt mission, including the site of the Aba Nigeria Temple.


The Democratic Republic of the Congo Mbuji-Mayi Mission will be created from parts of the Kinshasa and Lubumbashi missions, brining the number of missions in the Democratic Republic of the Congo to three. The Church recently announced a groundbreaking for a temple in Kinshasa.


Meanwhile, along the South China Sea, the Vietnam Hanoi Mission will be lobbed off of the Cambodia Phnom Penh Mission. The Cambodia mission’s existing president will switch over as president of the Vietnam Mission. Previously, the mission has called Vietnamese-speaking missionaries who spend their missions in Vietnam.


Also, if you’d like to view new mission president assignments, check them out here.

Lastly, the Mormon Newsroom’s Facebook post has some great comments.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints today announced the formation of three new missions: the Democratic…

Posted by Mormon Newsroom on Thursday, January 7, 2016