President Russell M. Nelson Announces 17 New Latter-day Saint Temples

los_angeles_temple_lds (1)-min
New temples will dot the globe, including a second temple in Spain.

We’ve grown accustomed to major temple announcements—both in quantity and cultural significance—during the tenure of Russell M. Nelson, President of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. After announcing 13 temples in October 2021 and 20 temples in April 2021, President Nelson closed the April 2022 General Conference by announcing 17 temples in the following locations:

  • Wellington New Zealand
  • Brazzaville Republic of the Congo
  • Barcelona Spain
  • Birmingham UK
  • Cusco Peru
  • Maceió Brazil
  • Santos Brazil
  • San Luis Potosí Mexico
  • Mexico City Benemérito
  • Tampa Florida
  • Knoxville Tennessee
  • Cleveland Ohio
  • Wichita Kansas
  • Austin Texas
  • Missoula Montana
  • Montpelier Idaho
  • Modesto California

Many of the announcements fall in line with the temple predictions that we published just before conference. By announcing 17 temples, President Nelson has also now announced a clean 100 temples during his presidency. Sure, it could have been 16 or 18, but why not 17, right? President Nelson has announced more temples than any president in Church history.

Will any of these temples have a statue of the angel Moroni? Probably not

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

More Good Stuff

Stay current with all things Latter-day Saints

Give Us Your Sacred Email

We don’t spam, unless you consider emails from us recapping stuff to be spam.